Step 1 - Preparation Confluence
Step 2 - IUM Configuration
Step 3 - Define IUM User
Example: There is only one Confluence user group with product access
Remove product access for the Confluence user group
Opening the user management of IUM
Under source group now select the Confluence user groups (from which the product access was removed)
(the source groups is still used for project permissions)After saving, the sync can be executed once (run now) or as a job at regular intervals.
Step 4 - Adjustment IUM Configuration
Assigned licences:
Here you can specify how many licenses IUM is allowed to use in total to provide licenses to IUM users.
Step 5 - IUM Browser Extension
Instruct all users to install the IUM Browser extension
More accurate tracking of user activity
Prevention of queue display for JSM Agents, JPD Contributors or Assets
A warning message will appear regarding the opening of an external link. This can be confirmed by clicking "continue".
Expected behavior of IUM
Login Process
License slots are available
-> After approximately 2 seconds, the user sees the normal queue and the reconnect starts automatically, he will be redirected to Confluence within approximately 20 - 30 seconds.No slots are available
-> After approximately 2 seconds, the user sees the queue after click on reconnect the timer starts for next autologin.
-> After the timer expires, an automatic login attempt is made.
-> This process repeats until IUM has been able to assign a slot to the user.
-> Optionally, the user can try to speed up the process by clicking "reconnect".
License Revocation
By default, IUM checks every 5 minutes whether existing users have been inactive for longer than the set inactivity time.
-> If this is the case, these users are removed from the ium access group.
-> The affected users receive a "Lost Confluence slot" popup approximately 1 minute before the license revocation.
-> Users who still have their browser open will see the queue.If the "Allow removal of inactive users on slot request" option is enabled, the following behavior occurs.
-> If user (a) is inactive for longer than the set inactivity time, another user (b) requests a slot, and ium has no free slots available
-> In this case, the user who has been inactive the longest (> set inactivity time) would lose their slot without a prior popup, and user (b) would receive that slot.If a user still has their browser open when their license is revoked, they will see the queue displayed on the relevant Confluence pages.
License Reassignment
A user can request a new slot at any time by clicking "reconnect"
-> If a slot is free -> redirect to the previous Confluence page
-> If no slot is free -> the timer starts and attempts an automatic reconnect upon expiration. (To speed up the process, a new manual reconnect attempt can be made after 30 seconds.)Option "Automatic login after removal during inactivity" is activated.
-> If the user's browser is still open when the license is revoked, the queue is displayed.
-> An attempt is made to automatically assign a slot.
-> If a slot is free -> automatic redirect to Confluence.
-> If no slot is free -> the timer expires, and another automatic attempt is made to assign a slot.
Status information
IUM displays the current status to the user.